Five community based Labour Councils are affiliated to the Federation from Annapolis Valley, Cape Breton District, Halifax-Dartmouth and District, South Shore, and Strait Area. The Federation works with the Councils in their communities as they endeavour to carry through the policies of the trade union movement initiated at the provincial and national levels and enable labour to play a role in their communities.